Shit!

Image

In this conference of heads

I go…

 It was unusual for me…

To raise my hand and speak!

And now they instruct us to do

To yell out the thoughts, and not to freak…

 

He raises his hand and shouts

“I work for the insects and how they mate”

She raises her hand and whispers

“I work for the wasps and their fate”

 

And now it’s me, I know

To whom the eager crowds gaze at…

I slowly lift my hand, of sweat and dust…

And that gentleman drops his hat…

 

I pat off the dust and I speak valiantly,

“I work in the jungle, for the elephants…”

And that lady in the crowd interrupts

“Whoa, in the wild! You mean a real elephant?!”

 

Of pride for the Jumbos, I smile…

“Yes in the wild, on the real jumbo with the trunk,

I walk behind their herds and follow

To watch, to wait and to collect their dung…”

 

He laughs and she, too

And the entire hall joins the group…

I still stand amidst the crowd…

Pondering about the Tusker’s poop…

 

I continued…

 

I travel a whole day in the jungle,

In search of trunk-ed bull,

I observe and wait,

And the piles of warm dung to pull…

 

Oh yes, it’s a Herculean task,

To wait for the hours, don’t go hyper…

If they won’t defecate, after munching a huge tree,

I guess, they need a “jumbo-diaper”!

 

Trust me; I study about the stress they face,

Under the harsh climate,

Under the tree with no leaves on them,

Under the poacher’s gun, that shall erase their fate!

 

And here, I find myself stressed,

Running behind them and they run behind,

With no skills in climbing the tree,

I plea and pray for them to be kind…

 

Yes, I work in the Jumbo’s night-soils,

For, the hidden mystery lies in them,

About the incidents and fears, they have encountered,

And the diseases, that can’t be claimed!

 

The crowd hushes now,

For, they must have understood a bit

For, I work for the elephants of India,

And I work on their shit!

 

They applaud a loud,

And I valiantly grab my seat…

The lady next to me whispered…

“You sat on my fingers, bullshit!”

 

With no anger to show,

I beg for the pardon,

To the next chair,

I gently shift …

One comment

Leave a Reply

